Running for Dad 2012

Last year I ran the Alloa half marathon in memory of my Dad who died following a long battle with vascular dementia. My target then was to beat the time that he set when he ran the same race in 1985 – I did, but only by a few seconds – not exactly something to write home about as he was double my age when he ran it!

Still, with the help of loads of generous people I was able to raise over £1000 for Alzheimer Scotland – a charity which helped me and my family out during a difficult time and do the same for families across Scotland.

This year Running for Dad is back and it is bigger, and further, than ever before.

I’ll be running the London Marathon on 22nd April and since the distance has doubled, so has the fundraising target.

My fundraising page is up and running ready to take donations. While I get up and running myself to try to complete it in 4 hours anything you are able to give would be appreciated by me and families up and down the country to have to try to cope with the challenges that Alzheimer’s and other forms of dementia throw up every day.

I’ll keep my blog updated on my training as I go. Over the next 156 days there are bound to be tears, laughter, injuries, good days and bad, but in the end we will have raised a load of money for a charity close to my heart.

That thought will see me through the long, hard miles.

 

2 thoughts on “Running for Dad 2012

  1. Caron says:

    A formidable target – but one which you will achieve, I know.

    I and all your other friends will be there to support you all the way to that finishing point on the Mall.

  2. Have just donated. But once I get paid employment with up the donation by a suitable increment.

Leave a Reply

